Sonig CD 58 by DJ Elephant Power

  • Label: Sonig
  • Title: Scratch The Hulu
  • Reference: Sonig CD 58
  • Format: CD
  • Country: DE
  • Categories: Ambient electronica
  • Style: Electronica songs
  • Weight: 0.15
  • Release date: 06/23/2007
  • Catalog entry: 06/23/2007
  • Average rating:

Sonig CD 58 review

DJ Elephant Power is the perfect anti-perfectionist. Live as well as in a studio environment he always performs on the verge of a complete loss of control. His tracks are anything but tight, yet they groove like hell. Anyone who has ever had the luck and the pleasure of witnessing one of his incredible shows will affirm that one simply has to dance, although it seems almost impossible. Baudoux’ sound, his way of arranging and mixing do not obey the rules of conventional DJing. They are, well, "radically dynamic”. Together with his brother Laurent, Nicolas formed the duo "SCRATCH PET LAND". He belongs to that Belgian posse of artists around the Fan Club Orchestra and Niko Uské. "SCRATCH THE HULU" is imbued with the absurd humour which has become one of the main stylistic devices of this posse. All the tracks on the album are complete and finished, yet it seems as if Baudoux wants them to retain a sketch-like quality. "SCRATCH THE HULU" is a treasure trove full of jolty drum patterns, pumping distorted basses, strangely clanging string instruments and signal horns (the kind you find on children’s’ bicycles). Nothing is in its place, yet everything fits. DJ Elephant Power creates grooves from tinny sounding hiphop samples, he coaxes grime from the sound of electric guitars and from whistles and scratches he produces Hulu. "SCRATCH THE HULU" is club music which does not belong in any club. Judged from the point of view of a conventional DJ, this music is simply a dancefloor sabotage. But take my word – as soon as you hear DJ Elephant Power, he will make you want to move.

Tracks list

Customers playlists

This records is not playlisted so far...

Organize, share and promote your favorite music by creating  your own playlists, start right now 5974add this record's tracks to a playlist

Customers who bought this item also bought

Customers reviews

Express yourself, write a review

  ____       ___      _____     ______    _  _   
 |  _ \\    / _ \\   / ____||  /_   _//  | \| || 
 | |_| ||  / //\ \\ / //---`'   -| ||-   |  ' || 
 | .  //  |  ___  ||\ \\___     _| ||_   | .  || 
 |_|\_\\  |_||  |_|| \_____||  /_____//  |_|\_|| 
 `-` --`  `-`   `-`   `----`   `-----`   `-` -`  
Review guidelines
  • 1. Set your rating
  • 2. Write your review in good english, please no abreviated SMS language
  • 3. Post it and your review will visible by everybody after an admin validated it