Drumcode 264 by Pleasurekraft

  • Label: Drumcode
  • Title: Sex and the Machine
  • Reference: Drumcode 264
  • Format: 12"
  • Country: BE
  • Categories: Techno / hardtechno
  • Style: Techno
  • Weight: 0.24
  • Release date: 12/24/2022
  • Catalog entry: 12/24/2022
  • Average rating:

Drumcode 264 review

Following their iconic remix of ‘Space Date’ in 2019, the classic collaborative work of Adam Beyer, Layton Giordani and Green Velvet, we are thrilled to have Pleasurekraft back on Drumcode for their debut solo release on the label.

Not keen to colour within the lines, the production duo caught Adam Beyer’s ear as they carved out their self-dubbed ‘cosmic techno’ niche within the techno genre. Conceived as a musical vision that attempts to go beyond mere hands-in-the-air moments, Pleasurekraft incorporate a cinematic soundscape as a canvas for philosophical themes regarding humanity's place within the cosmos. Their 2020 album, ‘Love in the Age of Machines’ explored the myriad and often dystopian relationships we have with the ubiquitous technologies that pervade our every interaction.

The new two-tracker ‘Sex and the Machine’, continues this thematic trajectory in considering the role machines will increasingly play in satisfying the more carnal desires of our species. The title track considers questions such as, will machines of the future have the capacity for thoughts and feelings? Will our answers to such questions be forever tainted by our singular perspective, unable and unwilling to grant future silicon entities such capabilities? The EP’s second track, ‘Body Horror’, with its repeating refrain, “You are changing”, considers the manner in which future technologies will continue to merge with biological entities giving rise to all manner of unimagined consequences. Both tracks showcase the tough, yet still melody-driven cosmic techno sound Pleasurekraft has become synonymous with. However, despite the cerebral content that inspired the music – the form is still pure dance floor muscle.

Tracks list

Customers who bought this item also bought

Customers playlists

Drumcode created by Arnaud Barbier

Organize, share and promote your favorite music by creating  your own playlists, start right now 39416add this record's tracks to a playlist

Customers reviews

Express yourself, write a review

  _____     ______   ______    _    _    __   __  
 /  ___||  /_   _// |      \\ | || | ||  \ \\/ // 
| // __     -| ||-  |  --  // | || | ||   \   //  
| \\_\ ||   _| ||_  |  --  \\ | \\_/ ||   / . \\  
 \____//   /_____// |______//  \____//   /_//\_\\ 
  `---`    `-----`  `------`    `---`    `-`  --` 
Review guidelines
  • 1. Set your rating
  • 2. Write your review in good english, please no abreviated SMS language
  • 3. Post it and your review will visible by everybody after an admin validated it