Nice Up LP 03 by Cut La Vis, Mystro, Maddy Carty, Skunkadelic, Peppery, Eva Lazarus, Tippa Irie, Lotek, Parisa

  • Label: Nice Up
  • Title: One Step Forward
  • Reference: Nice Up LP 03
  • Format: LP
  • Country: UK
  • Categories: Hip hop Dub / ragga Folktronic / postworld / jazz
  • Style: Hip Hop, Reggae, Funk
  • Weight: 0.24
  • Release date: 12/05/2015
  • Catalog entry: 08/31/2019
  • Average rating:
  • This records is a second hand. Condition: Very Good (Looks a bit used, but sounds as New)

Nice Up LP 03 review

One Step Forward is the debut album from Brighton based DJ and producer Cut La Vis aka David Lavis. Raised on a healthy diet of 90s hip hop, roots reggae and ska, Cut La Vis debut album for NICE UP! is a melting pot of exactly that - the sounds and culture he grew up around whilst learning his trade. Starting off as the DJ for a reggae band in his hometown of Hereford, he soon gravitated to the turntablist explosion of the mid 90s, competing in local competitions and B-Boy jams. At the same time, his love for dub and roots reggae led him into trying his hand at the fertile reggae mash-up scene, making a name for himself with an array of dancefloor shaking blends of classic hip hop tracks infused with a feel good skank, as well as remixes for for artists such as Blend Mishkin, Dreadsquad and Max Rubadub. Making the transition from mash-up maverick to original producer, you can still expect the same reggae infused bangers, dubwise hip hop and ska shakers complemented by an impressive array of guest vocalists plus a little help from a tight band of session musicians. Following their summer hit "Still Have The Love", London-based reggae/soul singer Maddy Carty appears on a number of tracks, as well as Bristol songstress Eva Lazarus who has been bothering the top 40 recently alongside Etherwood (Hospital Records). Roots Manuva collaborator and Speech Debelle's Mercury-winning producer Lotek blesses the mic on the bouncing "Rinse & Repeat" as well as UK Dancehall legend Tippa Irie who crops up on "Love My Music" pus an appearance from regular collaborator Mystro who opens the album with "Hit Me One Time". Rounding things off are JA dancehall MC Peppery and vocalist from Origin One, Parisa - giving the album a healthy balance of established artists and newer talent. With a cheeky nod to the classic Max Romeo track, "One Step Forward" also refers to this being Dave's debut album and making his first step into the future whilst retaining inspiration from the past.

Tracks list

Customers playlists

hip hop created by Bikny

November 30 created by toolbox records

Organize, share and promote your favorite music by creating  your own playlists, start right now 24451add this record's tracks to a playlist

Customers who bought this item also bought

Customers reviews

Express yourself, write a review

  _  __   _    _    _    _    __   __  __    __  
 | |/ // | || | || | |  | ||  \ \\/ // \ \\ / // 
 | ' //  | || | || | |/\| ||   \ ` //   \ \/ //  
 | . \\  | \\_/ || |  /\  ||    | ||     \  //   
 |_|\_\\  \____//  |_// \_||    |_||      \//    
 `-` --`   `---`   `-`   `-`    `-`'       `     
Review guidelines
  • 1. Set your rating
  • 2. Write your review in good english, please no abreviated SMS language
  • 3. Post it and your review will visible by everybody after an admin validated it