DNO 15 by PLLFRY, NST, Genoveva

  • Label: DNO
  • Title: Overexciting EP
  • Reference: DNO 15
  • Format: 12"
  • Country: UK
  • Categories: Bass dubstep grime Drum & bass
  • Style: Bass, Drum And Bass
  • Weight: 0.24
  • Release date: 02/03/2024
  • Catalog entry: 02/03/2024
  • Average rating:

DNO 15 review

Opening a new chapter for DNO Records, PLLFRY debuts on the label with five raucous halftime tracks that also feature collaborations with two vocalists – NST & Genoveva. The ‘Overexciting’ EP is built around iron-clad percussion and a healthy dose of mangled sonic futurism, but the dominating flavour throughout is big, bold, unadulterated bass.

As might be expected of tracks called ‘Demolition’ and ‘Collapse Of The System’, there’s plenty of damage being dealt; the former’s wrecking ball bassline spins violently as its supporting beats splinter and fall, while the latter’s destructive low-end hacks chunks from its itchy sci-fi soundscape like some psychotic sentient buzzsaw.

There’s room for nuance too, however. The title track is all about contrast, its rumbling bassline winding along like a colossal serpent, while hi-hats chitter, and Macedonian vocalist and producer Genoveva delivers a haunting, silvery vocal that’s cold and alluring in equal measure. And as if the undulating low-end and metallic melody of ‘Water Fire’ weren’t enough to make heads spin, the track features a vocal from South Russian up-and-comer NST that seems to slip and slide at will, pulling the track forward and always remaining just out of reach.

Bonus track ‘Old School’ nods to the golden age of hip-hop, taking a tough boom bap-style beat and scratch samples, but flipping it script with machine glitches and pellets of acid.

Like a collection of missives sent back from a hi-tek future, the ‘Overexciting’ EP serves as a reminder that DNO can’t be pigeonholed, and always stays one step ahead.

Rhythms of postmodern realism at the very bottom of the DNO.

Tracks list

Customers who bought this item also bought

Customers playlists

This records is not playlisted so far...

Organize, share and promote your favorite music by creating  your own playlists, start right now 41542add this record's tracks to a playlist

Customers reviews

Express yourself, write a review

            _____    _    _    __   __   _    _   
    ___    |  ___|| | |  | ||  \ \\/ // | || | || 
   /   ||  | ||__   | |/\| ||   \ ` //  | || | || 
  | [] ||  | ||__   |  /\  ||    | ||   | \\_/ || 
   \__ ||  |_____|| |_// \_||    |_||    \____//  
    -|_||  `-----`  `-`   `-`    `-`'     `---`   
Review guidelines
  • 1. Set your rating
  • 2. Write your review in good english, please no abreviated SMS language
  • 3. Post it and your review will visible by everybody after an admin validated it