Bassmaessage 02 by Nuphlo, Bukkha, Dj Badshape, Sun People, Dub Across Borders, Paranoid One, bhed

  • Label: Bassmaessage
  • Title: Second Drop
  • Reference: Bassmaessage 02
  • Format: 12"
  • Country: UK
  • Categories: Bass dubstep grime Dub / ragga Ragga jungle
  • Style: Jungle, Halftime, Juke, Dub, Dub Techno
  • Weight: 0.24
  • Release date: 02/05/2024
  • Catalog entry: 02/05/2024
  • Average rating:

Bassmaessage 02 review

Bassmæssage is the heaviest and most consistent bass music night out of Leipzig, operating way over 30 low frequency terrapeutic events since 2007.
Hosting ventral vibrations by the likes of Mungo's Hifi, Moonshine, Rupture, Hardwax and the homies of Jahtari, maintaining strong relations within the local soundsystem culture like Zoumo and Plug Dub and pushing a ton of grass-roots DJs and visual artists, out of doubt it is a sure shot for all who like it low and want it vibrant.

2015 saw the release of the "Volume One" vinyl, blending all kinds of styles and tempi by artists who had played at a Bassmæssage. Dub met Dubstep, Footwork went along some Snailfunk Drum'n'Bass and even Skweee had a cameo. And all this happened on one plate with a warm vibe from start to finish.

It is about time to revive the label with a new vinyl compilation named "Second Drop", following the tradition of a nice roundup across various bass music tearitorries. One side pumps at uplifting 160 BPM, while the flipside is shifting down to relaxing 135 and even 120 speeds.

Nuphlo and Bukkha team up for the energetic modern halftime piece "Drip". Nuphlo might ring a bell as part of The Nasha Experience from London and Leeds, connecting asian roots with nowadays UK bass sounds. Bukkha is state-side born and has recently emigrated to Spain, from where this worldwide touring DJ machine is firing a plethora of bass music styles on renowned labels like Moonshine, System and Innamind.

DjBadshape passes the breakbeat driven torch with handsome melodies and subby kickbass on "Drift" to reflect Leipzig's well various scenes. While checking her tracks on Defrostatica and Human, one may also find artworks for Bassmæssage and more.

Sun People is closing the 160 side with the deep but dirty retro 90s jungle bit "Rise Up". Combining Techno, Footwork and UK Hardcore Breakbeats, the Graz based bass buab made it to releases on Exit, Rua and Alphacut.

Flipping sides, Dub Across Borders redefines steppers dub into the dreamy yet rolling "Bass Tree Dream". The project was found by a Copenhagen dubber when living in Colombia, fusing the rural folklore with soundsystem energy into a world-bass music. This can be heard on labels like Basscomesaveme, Translation and 45Seven and is best to be experienced in its live dubbing appearance which premiered at a Bassmæssage in 2015.

Paranoid One grabs these feelings and drops them a bit more sinister, "Glimp" manages to hide a playful 4 to the floor kick as well beyond its smooth soundscapes and percussions. As Paranoid Society these split personalities from Tallinn were delivering to Modern Urban Jazz and Alphacut already since a decade at least.

Tracks list

Customers who bought this item also bought

Customers playlists

This records is not playlisted so far...

Organize, share and promote your favorite music by creating  your own playlists, start right now 41368add this record's tracks to a playlist

Customers reviews

Express yourself, write a review

 ______    __   __              ______   _    _   
|      \\  \ \\/ //     ___    /_   _// | || | || 
|  --  //   \ ` //     /   ||   -| ||-  | || | || 
|  --  \\    | ||     | [] ||   _| ||_  | \\_/ || 
|______//    |_||      \__ ||  /_____//  \____//  
`------`     `-`'       -|_||  `-----`    `---`   
Review guidelines
  • 1. Set your rating
  • 2. Write your review in good english, please no abreviated SMS language
  • 3. Post it and your review will visible by everybody after an admin validated it